shortcut to content

Village of Stillwater NY header

page title bulletVillage Board

sample inside page photo
The Village Board room entrance is located in back of the Stillwater Firehouse at the far left side of the building.

Mayor and Village Board of Trustees

The Village of Stillwater is governed by the Mayor and a four member Board of Trustees, all of whom are elected for four year staggered terms. The Board is the legislative body of the Village government.

Village Board meetings are held at 7:00 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month. All meetings are open to the public and are located in the Village Board meeting room located at 1 School Street. All meeting minutes are available for download in PDF format once approved by the village board (see links to the right).


2017-2018 Village Board Meeting Schedule (pdf)

Mayor Rick NelsonMayor Rick Nelson (term 2015-2019)

Rick Nelson was elected to his first term as village Mayor in March, 2015. He has lived in the community his entire life and, for the past 27 years, has run “The Works” a sole-proprietorship specializing in lawn care, snow removal, and general home repairs (carpentry, electrical, plumbing). As a member of Stillwater United Church, he serves as an elder, deacon and on the church Board of Trustees. As a Trustee he assists with managing church property and the budget. Nelson has also worked as a sport’s official for 30 years, officiating women’s field hockey, basketball and lacrosse at the high school and college level. He was a member of the village Zoning Board of Appeals and is an active member of the Stillwater Waterfront Revitalization Committee. Nelson resides at St John's Place with his wife Catherine and son Patrick. His parents are Barney and Lenetta, grandparents Aileen and Percy Aldrich and Raymond and Julia Nelson. CLICK HERE TO WATCH AN INAUGURATION CEREMONY MUSIC SLIDESHOW


Eunice MarshallVillage Trustee Eunice Marshall (2017-2021)

Eunice Marshall was elected to a new 4-year term on the Village Board of Trustees in March, 2017. She was originally appointed to the board in October, 2015, to fill the seat formerly held by John Murphy, who resigned. Marshall and her husband, Steve, have three sons who are fifth generation residents of Stillwater. Marshall is a former Town Tax Collector, former member of the Stillwater Schools Board of Education, Stillwater Baseball Booster Club and Parish Council member of St. Peter's Church. She is retired from Stillwater Central Schools.


Frank TatumVillage Frank Tatum (term 2015-2019)

Frank Tatum was elected to his first, 4-year term on the Board of Trustees in March, 2015. Frank Tatum is a fourth generation village resident. He is a graduate of Stillwater High School and studied Accounting at Hudson Valley Community College. He has worked at the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance for the past 25 years where he is currently a Call Center Manager.


Trustee Judith Wood-ShawVillage Trustee Judith A. Wood-Shaw (2015-2019)

Trustee Wood-Shaw began serving her first term in April of 2011. She was elected to office for four more years in March, 2015. She is a member of the Comprehensive Planning Committee, the Emergency Comprehensive Planning Committee, the Grants and Funding Committee, a liaison to the ZBA and a past board member/treasurer for the Stillwater Area Community Center. Currently, she is a volunteer with the Stillwater Area Community Center and heads the village's Senior Time Program. In November 2011, she secured $1,800 in grant monies from the Saratoga County Board of Supervisors to provide supplies for the emergency shelter at the Stillwater Area Community Center.

Trustee Wood-Shaw is a lifelong area resident, a graduate of Stillwater Central School and a retiree from Saratoga BOCES with 22 years of service in Special Education. She is married to Keith Shaw, has two sons, Joseph and Edward Wood and three grandchildren. She is proud to serve the needs and wants of the Village of Stillwater residents.


Judy Wood ZenoVillage Trustee Judith Wood-Zeno (2017-2021)

Judith Wood-Zeno was elected to her first 4-year term on the Board of Trustees in March, 2017, as a write-in candidate. The position on the board became open following the retirement of Trustee Timothy Campbell. Now retired, Wood-Zeno had a 30-year career working with people as Senior Director of Account Management for Medco Health Solutions, an American Pharmacy Benefits Management Company which served more than 65 million people before it was ultimately acquired by Express Scripts in 2012. She worked in customer service prior to that. She is a member of the Stillwater Historical Society and Book Club at the Stillwater Public Library. She is also a board member at Spa Christian School in Ballston Spa and board member and treasurer for Highway Tabernacle Church in Mechanicville. Wood-Zeno has lived in the village for 25 years and has a keen interest in preserving its special character, beauty and charm. Her main role as Trustee will put her in charge of village beautification efforts.


Village Attorney

Dreyer Boyajian LLP
James R. Peluso, Esq.

Village Engineer

Ed Hernandez, P.E.
Adirondack Mountain Engineering, P.C.
P.O. Box 1376, Ballston Lake, New York 12019
Phone: (518) 250-1932


More information heading

Board Meeting Minutes

All meeting minutes are PDF files.


Board Meeting Stories



Addressing the board in the public forum

  • Speakers shall identify themselves and their address
  • Remarks are limited to 5 minutes
  • Remarks must relate to a matter of Village business
  • Speakers shall address the Board, not the audience
  • Speakers should refrain from repetition
  • Speakers shall not use profanity, intemperate language, nor engage in personal attacks
  • Speakers shall respect the decorum of the public meeting and the authority of the Mayor to decide questions of order

Annual Documents

2017-18 Village Budget (pdf)

2017-2018 Reorganizational Resolution (pdf)