Nelson defeats Martin in Stillwater mayor’s race, three Trustees elected to new terms

Village residents elected a new mayor Wednesday, turning out incumbent Ernest Martin, who has led the community for 23 years. Rick Nelson, who will take the office on April 6, defeated Martin 194-132. Martin was village trustee in 1983, becoming mayor in March 1992 and is the longest serving mayor in Stillwater history. Three others ran unopposed for village Trustee and were elected to new terms: incumbent Trustees Judith Wood-Shaw (4 years Р186 votes), Timothy Campbell (2 years Р219 votes) and newcomer Frank Tatum (4 years Р185 votes).