Wood-Zeno elected village Mayor, Nelson re-elected Trustee

Trustee Judith Wood-Zeno
New Mayor Judith Wood-Zeno

Stillwater village residents went to the polls on November 7 and elected a new Mayor and re-elected a Trustee to new four-year terms.

Elected Mayor with 222 total votes was Judith Wood-Zeno. Re-elected Trustee with 168 votes was Patrick F. Nelson. Both candidates ran unopposed for office and will begin serving their new terms on December 4, 2023.

Wood-Zeno will replace current Mayor Judith Wood-Shaw, who decided not to seek another term in office. Wood-Shaw was elected the village’s first female Mayor in 2018. Before that she was a village Trustee. Wood-Zeno is Deputy Mayor and has served as village Trustee since 2017.

Trustee Patrick Nelson
Patrick F. Nelson

Nelson was elected to his second, four-year term as village Trustee. He has held that office since 2019.

A third seat held by long time Trustee John Basile was also up for election this year but will remain vacant for the time being. Basile did not seek re-election after serving many years on the Village Board. No one else stepped forward to run for his seat.